Tuesday, April 25, 2023

New War Poetry Anthology Inspired by Wilfred Owen’s ‘Spring Offensive’

CultureCult Press, a literary independent that publishes poetry, short fiction, and books related to horror, pop-culture, and film, has just published an anthology titled Spring Offensive: Poetry of Strife and Spring. The press is based in Kolkata, West Bengal, India.

The anthology project comprises the works of 39 poets from around the world, each inspired by British soldier Wilfred Owen’s poem “Spring Offensive,” which was written during World War I.

Reprinted in the book are citizen-soldier-poet Randy Brown’s poems “Three Tanka from Des Moines, Iowa – Spring 2016” and “fighting seasons.” The latter poem first appeared in Brown’s 2015 debut poetry collection, Welcome to FOB Haiku: War Poems from Inside the Wire.

The publisher writes:

From the blossoming of new life to the chaos and devastation of conflict, these poems are a powerful exploration of the human experience. This illustrated collection is a testament to the resilience of the human spirit, and a reminder that even amidst the most challenging of circumstances, hope can still bloom. Whether you are a poetry aficionado or a newcomer to the genre, “Spring Offensive” is a must-read for anyone looking to experience the transformative power of poetry.

In the United States, the 100-page anthology Spring Offensive can be purchased via Lulu.com as a $15.99 trade paperback or as a $3.99 e-book.

No comments:

Post a Comment

Note: Only a member of this blog may post a comment.